Title If You Throw Enough Mud at the Wall, None of It Will Stick
Duration Mar. 17 – May 7, 2017
Reception May 17 (Fri.) 4pm
Venue A+ Contemporary|Room 106, Bldg. 7, 50 Moganshan Road, Shanghai, China

If You Throw Enough Mud at the Wall, None of It Will Stick

 Lin Aojie

A+ Contemporary is pleased to present the opening of artist Lin Aojie’s solo exhibition “If You Throw Enough Mud at the Wall, None of It Will Stick” on March 17th, 2017. The exhibition is on view through May 7th.

How does contemporary art create new kinds of imagination and negotiation tactics within politics of the everyday? Through various forms including video, installation, drawing, and photography, artist Lin Aojie chooses to confront these issues through the lens of personal experience and trivial politics of the everyday, making veiled criticisms to navigate the complexities of identity and sensitivities of social relationships. As opposed to aggressive, direct resistance, Lin Aojie prefers a traceless “scratch”, using a neutral tone to document the nuances and subtleties of the everyday; by turning from a purely object-oriented artistic process to the production of relational mechanics, Lin engages himself in spatial and institutional critique, or his own constructive practices altogether. An artwork is not simply art in and of itself, but a record of an artified life—art becomes life/ method of production and further, biopolitics. With globalization of the capital markets, consumerism and commercialized operations have inevitably become the backdrop of contemporary art. Under the political marriage of capital and market, an artist’s identity, self- awareness, and societal roles are constantly in conflict. Through his documentations of reality, Lin Aojie, with his double identity as artist and practitioner, cunningly forges a new path out of the ostensibly indestructible production chain and power system.

About Artist

Lin Aojie was born in 1986 in Guangzhou. Graduated from BA in Oil Painting, Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts in 2010, Lin Aojie currently lives and works in Guangzhou. His solo exhibition includes: If You Throw Enough Mud at the Wall, None of It Will Stick (A+ Contemporary, Shanghai, 2017). Selected group exhibitions include: The 11th Shanghai Biennale “Theory Opera” (Power Station of Art, Shanghai, 2016), Rhythm-analysis (OCAT Shenzhen, Shenzhen, 2016), “ART•SANYA” HUAYU Youth Award (Huayu resort and spa Yalong bay Sanya, Sanya, 2016), Aint No Chicken Outside the Canton (REFORMERart, Shanghai, 2016), Hinterland Project (Times Museum, Guangzhou, 2015), The 2nd CAFAM•Future Exhibition Observer-Creator: The Reality Representation of Chinese Young Art (CAFA Art Museum, Beijing, 2015), Experience of Nervousness (Radical Space, Shanghai, 2014).

ARTICLES
ON-SITE

ARTWORKS

The Best Design Ever

Kevin

It’s up to Artist, When Boss is gone    

Bizarre

Battle

Self-Introduction

Starbucks Left

You Left Me Off Your List Part1

Magnate

Design Sketch

Lead Your Way

You Left Me Off Your List Part2

Diary of Freedom

展名 我不是教你壞,也不是教你詐
展期 Mar. 17 – May 7, 2017
開幕 May 17 (Fri.) 4pm
地點 A+ Contemporary 亞洲當代藝術空間|上海市普陀區莫乾山路50號7號樓106室

 

我不是教你壞,也不是教你詐

林奧劼

A+ Contemporary 亞洲當代藝術空間榮幸地宣布,我們即將於 2017 年 3 月 17 日舉行林奧劼的個展「我不是教你壞,也不是教你詐」,展覽將持續至5月7 日。

當代藝術如何在日常政治中創造新的想像力和協商方式?藝術家林奧劼選擇以個人經驗和日常政治的瑣碎疑問出發,通過包括錄 像、裝置、繪畫、照片在內的多種形式,以旁敲側擊的隱晦批判介入身份的複雜性與社會關係的敏感度。相比直指痛處的激烈對抗,林奧劼更喜歡不露痕蹟的「搔癢」,以一種看似不帶任何感情色彩的語調記錄日常中湧動的微妙和曖昧,從純粹以「物」為 中心的創作過程轉向探討關係機制化的生產方式,對空間乃至整個體系進行批判或實踐。藝術品並非藝術本身,而是藝術化生活的紀錄——藝術成為了生活/生產方式,成為了生命政治。資本全球化背景下的消費主義以及商業化操作已經成為了當代藝術無 法避免的語境,在資本、市場的合謀下,藝術家的身份、自我意 識與社會分配的角色時時發生著衝突 ;同時扮演藝術家和從業者雙重角色的林奧劼似乎在透過他對現實的記錄,謀劃著從看似牢 不可破的生產鏈條、權利系統中發掘一條新出路。

關於藝術家

林奧劼 1986 年生於廣州,2010 年畢業於廣州美術學院油畫系,獲學士學位。現生活及工作於廣州。個展包括 :「我不是教你壞,也不是教你詐 」(A+ Contemporary 亞洲當代藝術空間,上海, 2017)。群展包括 :「第 11 屆上海雙年展理論劇院」(上海當代藝術博物館,上海,2016)、「畫內音」(OCAT 深圳館,深圳, 2016)、「第五屆三亞藝術季華宇青年獎」(亞龍灣華宇度假酒店,三亞,2016)、「出了廣東的雞不是雞 」(REFORMERart, 上海,2016)、「腹地計劃」(時代美術館,廣州 , 2015)、「第二屆 CAFAM 未來展 :創客創客 • 中國青年藝術的現實表徵」(中央美術學院美術館,北京 , 2015)、「緊張的經驗」(激烈空間,上海, 2014)。

ARTICLES

ON-SITE

ARTWORKS

最好的設計

Kevin

領導

怪夢

較量

自我介紹

星巴克左派

卑鄙的我 Part1

富豪

效果圖

引路人

卑鄙的我 Part2

自由日記